National buzz for some PSU players...

Got most of this info from gopsusports.com - you can check out the entire story on the PSU Football page by clicking on the link to PSU Football.

Sophomore linebacker Dan Connor, junior linebacker Paul Posluszny and senior cornerback Alan Zemaitis have been put on the Bednarik Award "watch list". The award is presented to the best defensive player in the country, by the Maxwell Club. LaVar Arrington is the last Penn Stater (and last Big Ten player) to receive the award.

Posluszny and Zemaitis were also named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list. The award is presented to the best defensive player in college football by the Football Writers Association of America.

Senior quarterback Michael Robinson and junior tailback Tony Hunt were named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award presented to the nation's top college player by the Maxwell Club.

Posluszny, Robinson and Zemaitis were elected team captains for the 2005 season.

Posluszny was the first sophomore to lead Penn State in tackles since Phil Yeboah-Kodie in 1992 and is the first junior to be elected a captain since Mike Reid and Steve Smear in 1968. Those are some pretty special footsteps to follow -

Conner is one of only 2 sophomores nominated for the Bednarik Award.

It's quite impressive, if not surprising that this many Lions would be even considered - there are only 51 players total on the Maxwell Award list and 49 on the Bednarik. There are 50 players on the Nagurski watch list.

No comments: